FMVacation Policy

My office is really small–under 10 people–so vacation time around holidays is always a struggle.

Last Christmas, I asked to take an entire week. I still had the time, and my family lives in California, so I need more than a couple days to get out to see them. My boss said it wouldn’t work, that “everyone needs to be willing to sacrifice” so that we can stay open around the holidays.

This while the owner was already planning his three-week family vacation to Hawaii.

I suck it up, and plan on a friends Christmas and maybe a couple days off around New Year’s.

Day after Christmas, I’m in the office at the crack of dawn, guess who’s not?

My boss. She took “sick days” the rest of the week.

-J. H., P.R. industry

Leave a Reply

